Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Finished Giraffe rocks before varnish

I finally had a little time this weekend to finish the giraffe paintings.

I finished painting the two giraffe rocks yesterday! It was a long road; both of these are fairly large rocks and my schedule recently has been a little art-prohibitive. Detailed work requires a lot of patience, which is hard to muster when I’m tired. But things have settled down a little, and this weekend I had some time to paint.

So today I have photos of the giraffes to share. Finally!

It was pretty hard to get good photos of the larger giraffe. The front is quite flat, and reflects the camera flash (and ambient light) really well. So I’d end up with photos like the on on the left.

From now on I think I’ll take all of the angle shots before I apply the varnish. The varnish is supposed to be matte–and it is, compared to the gloss varnish–but it still reflects a good amount of light. I ended up taking most of the photos of the larger rock outside, which worked a little better.

So here we go. If you have any questions about them, or their process, don’t hesitate to ask in the comments!

